Driving under the influence is not only risky, it is also illegal in the United States. The consequences that you will face will depend on the state you reside in and any prior convictions you may have had.
In general, you can expect severe repercussions once you get arrested for drunk driving. Thankfully, you can hire a DUI lawyer to represent you in court and argue your case. Learn about some of the legal impacts that come with driving under the influence.
DUI attracts jail time in almost half of the states when it's your first conviction. You can go to jail for about 24 hours to one week, depending on where you live and how serious the charges are. For instance, New Jersey residents don't face jail time the first time they get arrested for DUI. However, the second DUI charge within ten years lands you in jail for close to 48 hours. Repeat drunk driving violators can face several years in prison. At this point, you will need a DUI attorney to defend you in court. You might get a reduced sentence if all goes well.
Fines for drunk driving range from a few hundred dollars to thousands of dollars, depending on the circumstances. Besides that, you will have to cater to all court fees. If you don't have a legal representative, court sessions might drag, culminating in a few extra charges.
Therefore, you should really consider hiring a lawyer to negotiate a deal for you to pay fair rates. Together, you can devise a plan to come up with enough money to settle the fine.
During probation, you will be out of jail but face some limitations as a high-risk driver. If this happens, you need to do the following:
- Report to a probation officer
- Perform community service for some hours
- Pay any probation fees
- Sign up for an alcohol treatment program
Working with a DUI attorney is essential because the expert will help you register for an education program to get you back on the road after you have completed the course.
Installation of Ignition Interlock Gadgets
Besides fines and jail time, the court will compel you to install ignition interlock devices. Typically, it works by detecting the alcohol content in your system before you can even start your car. You can't ignite your vehicle until you breathe into a tube to check alcohol levels in your body. Specific states, such as Hawaii and Arkansas, require anyone convicted of DUI to install the device. On the other hand, Colorado mandates first-time DUI offenders to use the gadget in a bid to curb drunk driving.